Testimonials For Pet Loss Support Groups

5.00 Stars

This program was outstanding and was just what I needed at this time. It was such an impactful experience for me, I am seriously thinking of getting the training to become a certified trainer.

Pet Loss Support Groups
10/01/2019
Participant in Bend, Oregon
3.00 Stars

After the 2-day workshop, I am more clear about the nature of the losses I've experienced and feel more connected to humanity. I realize that we are all grievers. And that there are some tools to manage and lessen our grief.

Pet Loss Support Groups
09/29/2019
Participant in Bend, OR
4.00 Stars

I'm already noticing there isn't as much zing to coming home to where Mark is no longer. I also appear to be calmer about my unknown future.

Pet Loss Support Groups
09/29/2019
Participant in Bend, OR
5.00 Stars

Need a t shirt or sign on the wall, TRUST THE PROCESS! I wanted to leave and resisted the Apologize, I forgive part, I also really reacted negatively to one of the participants who sucked all the oxygen out of the room with her statements. Because we cant do anything but tell them how that makes us feel, they were allowed to control the room. I didnt want to be around it. I didnt want to make a scene with my feelings as she did so I contemplating just leaving. Spoke to Ed and he calmed me down and was helpful. Some people are snowflakes and are offended by everything. Got tired of heariing about her Safe Space. I dont want a safe space, I want to challenge this horrible hurt head on. Felt like she controlled the room at times. I persevered and actually apologized and shared much with my partner, I was able to say goodbye and accomplish much I felt couldnt do and wouldnt do. Really, Really appeal to you to give us visual Tools. The filling in of the blanks on Eds teaching materials was powerful. I was more distracted that I couldnt solidify learning by writing things down than by my grief. At times I felt there were too many rules, dont do this dont do that. I am wondering what part NLP or Sugestions , can play a part. "I am wondering if you could imagine completing this grief, not telling you to do it, just wondering"

Pet Loss Support Groups
09/29/2019
Participant in Bend, Oregon
5.00 Stars

I have been struggling with learning how to cope with the painful, unresolved, grief of tragically losing my sister and my business. The Grief Recovery Method has taught me coping skills, and a tried and true plan of action that gave me clear cut steps to complete my grief that was ultimately causing me physical pain. I look forward to continuing the process by completing the grief around more events that have occurred during my life. I wish everyone I encountered was able to attend this program!

Pet Loss Support Groups
09/22/2019
Participant in Commack, New York
5.00 Stars

I feel so fortunate to have encountered Cricket-Olivia Forfar. I had never heard of the Grief Recovery Method for Pet Loss and was eager to attend her information presentation. Since what she had to say made so much sense to me I decided to sign up with her.

The book is very informative and lays out the process but I had questions throughout and benefited from the long discussions I had with Cricket. Anyone who tries this with the book alone should be extremely disciplined - I know I couldn't have done it. I needed everything Cricket brought to the table - encouragement, sympathy, patience and understanding. I told a friend what I was doing and she bought the book alone (but she's in a different country.) It was my friend's intention to complete assignments at the same pace as me. Without the commitment of the appointments and the training that Cricket has so she could respond to my questions and challenges, my friend still hasn't finished.

I had many "A-Ha" moments. For example:

  • Early in my reading of the book I learned that we are taught to acquire things, not to lose them.
  • Virtually all of the phrases used by well intentioned people do not address grief - they at best offer no comfort and at worst are bad advice.
  • About two thirds of the way through I found myself laughing at something on television and the sound was so foreign that I realised I hadn't laughed out loud in at least two years. That same week I laughed heartily at something while at work. Co-workers turned and stared at me and one even said she couldn't remember the last time she had heard me laugh.

Make no mistake, this is extremely hard emotional work. I needed Cricket to help me dig deep enough when my natural inclination to avoid or procrastinate surfaced. I didn't want to go through the process, I needed to. Also, this doesn't stop me missing my loved ones. I am still sad and even cry occasionally because their losses have become part of the fabric of my life. But I am not locked into their endings any more, not obsessing about the decisions I made at the time. The memories of the whole relationships and the years of joy we shared make me happy.

I can't thank or praise Cricket enough. She and the Grief Recovery Method have changed my life.

Pet Loss Support Groups
07/03/2019
Participant in Toronto, Ontario
5.00 Stars

I was better able to understand grief which helped me with my loss if Chip.

Pet Loss Support Groups
02/26/2019
Participant in Levittown, PA
4.00 Stars

I found this program to be beneficial to me not just in coping with the loss of my own pet but providing me with resources to help my clients deal with the loss of their pets as well. Working in oncology in a veterinary specialty facility means that each one of my patients is likely to have a terminal disease, and owners need to come to terms with losing their pet. I feel that I am now more capable of talking through grief with owners and providing them with healthy ways to cope with their loss, rather than just sending them to a website or home with a brochure.

Pet Loss Support Groups
02/26/2019
Participant in Levittown, PA
4.00 Stars

This program was very informative and gave me some excellent tools to use in not only my private life, but in my professional life as well, as this is something I deal with on a regular basis.

Pet Loss Support Groups
02/26/2019
Participant in Levittown, Pa
5.00 Stars

It wasn’t until I met with Gwen did I realize what “grief” actually meant. Gwen is the most compassionate person I have ever met. She is kind, understanding, non-judgmental and so caring. Gwen explained the Grief Recovery Method and the work involved over the next 6 weeks. I immediately signed up to meet with her one-on-one. Finally, a safe place where I could cry and openly talk about my pet losses and not feel judged or crazy. Why was this grief for my dogs more paralyzing to me than I had for some “human” relatives I recently lost? Working with Gwen and going through the suggested exercises in “The Grief Recovery Handbook for Pet Loss” was invaluable. The chapters on creating a Relationship Graph, discussing Recovery Categories (apology, forgiveness and emotional statements) and the Completion Letter at the end of the program was life changing for me. There are no words to adequately describe how Gwen helped me through the most difficult time in my life. The key to this program was having an experienced and compassionate listener who made me feel safe and comfortable when I was pouring my heart and soul out. This program will help you gain valuable tools and insight to help you decide if and when you want to welcome another pet into your life. My heart is at peace now. Yes, I still get sad every so often but I don’t get “stuck” in that sadness like I use to. I can now recall stores of Oreo and Spencer and smile (or even shed a few tears) because my heart is no longer shattered.

Pet Loss Support Groups
11/01/2018
Participant in Commack, New York
5.00 Stars
Pet Loss Support Groups
10/30/2018
Participant in Commack, New York
5.00 Stars

In doing the Grief Recovery Handbook for Pet Loss I have the knowledge and skills to use the method in all aspects of loss in my life. I am encouraged and excited to put into practice the skills I have learned!

Pet Loss Support Groups
09/26/2018
Participant in Boise, ID
5.00 Stars
Pet Loss Support Groups
07/20/2018
Participant in Grant, AL