Testimonials For 2 Day Personal Workshops

5.00 Stars

I was at the point where even the thought of my brother and his mental illness would give me anxiety and send me into a panic for days. I was wrestling with resentment toward him as well as incredible fear surrounding his condition and behavior. I couldn’t physically be around him without feeling tense and erupting with anger. Doing Grief Recovery was the one of best things I have ever done in my life. I don’t feel panic or anger toward my brother - I feel love, compassion and sincere gratitude for him. I can enjoy my brother for who he is and where he is at in his own process and his burdens are not mine to bear. I was able to grieve some losses in our relationship without carrying the pain forward. Now our relationship is defined by fondness and appreciation - the pain is in the past and it will stay there. I will never be the same after Grief Recovery. This method works and it gave me back the parts of me and this relationship that I so desperately was missing and needed back. Thank you so much for this work - it changed my life.

2 Day Personal Workshops
04/14/2019
Participant in Austin, TX
5.00 Stars

I was stricken with grief and my heart carried a huge burden concerning my marriage relationship. Continuing to attend GRM classes empowered me to use the method on my husband. The next day after the two-day workshop, I was able to have a calm and loving conversation about difficult subjects with my husband and without the pain. Even now, I am no longer feeling the weight of my past in this relationship. It's truly wonderful to be free of the pain. Thank you for this process and for creating the opportunity for everyone to experience peace in difficult circumstances.

2 Day Personal Workshops
03/23/2019
Participant in Worthington, OH
5.00 Stars

It was a difficult program to work through, only in the sense that it’s a hard process . Grief and loss are not easy . With that being said, I feel like I gave birth to a new me, the labor was hard, but necessary process. I will take the skills I learned and use them many times in my life I am sure. I know , I will listen much better than I ever have , to not only others, but myself. I highly recommend this class, to anyone suffering loss

2 Day Personal Workshops
03/24/2019
Participant in Columbus , Oh
5.00 Stars

This program helped me dig deep -to a place I didn’t want to go -but needed to go to help me heal and move forward in my Grief. I am so very thankful I came to this program!

2 Day Personal Workshops
03/24/2019
Participant in Columbus , Ohio
5.00 Stars

The program helped me to move past some old hurts that were still bothering me. I plan on incorporating the new tools I learned into my healthy lifestyle.

2 Day Personal Workshops
03/24/2019
Participant in Columbus, Ohio
5.00 Stars
2 Day Personal Workshops
02/16/2018
Participant in manhattan Beach, CA
3.00 Stars
2 Day Personal Workshops
01/23/2019
Participant in sugarland, tx
3.00 Stars

It has worked for me personally with the loss of my dad. It was a difficult relationship between us and I would define it as disenfranchised grief that I was experiencing with his death. The other area is professionally I have been using the GRM at our Women's Correctional Centre ever since on a one to one basis. With the two other co-workers that took the course with me.

2 Day Personal Workshops
04/26/2014
Participant in Winnipeg, Manitoba
5.00 Stars
2 Day Personal Workshops
06/10/2018
Participant in Klamath Falls / Roseburg, Oregon
5.00 Stars
2 Day Personal Workshops
12/01/2018
Participant in Bend, Oregan
3.00 Stars
2 Day Personal Workshops
12/02/2018
Participant in Bend, OR
5.00 Stars

I was anxious during lunch on Sunday because I was anticipating what was going to happen during the last session. It was as hard as I thought it was going to be, but the freedom that we had from the rules laid out allowed me to get through it. My small group partners only being able to watch, and me not being able to apologize for getting chocked up and it being very clear that I just need to push through and say what I needed to say was an amazing breakthrough. I have tools now that I desperately needed.

2 Day Personal Workshops
12/02/2018
Participant in Bend, Oregon
5.00 Stars
2 Day Personal Workshops
11/18/2018
Participant in Los Angeles, California
5.00 Stars

In the 2-day session, I felt good leaving the first day. I had hope that I would get better. On the morning of the second day, I could feel myself resisting: I knew it was going to be very hard to work through the grief. It was, too. But with Lois Hall's help, I did it! In the days following, I felt lighter - I even weighed myself because I was sure I'd lost weight! (I hadn't) :) I have noticed the effects of releasing my grief and negative thought patterns and beliefs in multiple aspects of my life. I am finally able to FEEL love again for my kids, family, and boyfriend. I have been working through my grief with therapists, EMDR, self-help books, and incredible support team of family and friends, but nothing has been as effective and beneficial as this class. I am excited to continue using this method to work through and improve my other relationships, and I will be returning next year to become a specialist so I can share this awesome healing with my patients. THANK YOU to Russell Friedman and John James - may your legacy live on forever!!

2 Day Personal Workshops
10/28/2018
Participant in Columbus, Ohio
5.00 Stars

I received this evaluation regarding the two day workshop that I attended in Columbus, Ohio in October, 2018. Lois Hall was the facilitator. It was an excellent class. I enjoyed it very much and learned quite a bit even though I have been through the GRM certification training and the Advanced training. It was especially helpful to hear the information again; this time, being familiar with the material, I was able to absorb the information differently. I heard more .... I understood more .... I could participate more. I am delighted I made the effort to go and feel the money was well spent. I worked on another personal loss of my own, and of course, this is extremely helpful. Not only for my own personal growth and personal grief issues, but because I am an Advanced GRM Specialist. The more personal work that I do, I find that I am a better Specialist. It is important to be able to sit on both sides of the program. I trust that taking this workshop has improved my professional skills. I would like to make one suggestion: since many participants come from out of state and need to catch a plane on Sunday, perhaps start the weekend program on a Friday - early evening. Say 7 p.m. or so ... Have a "welcome gathering" and begin the material. Introductions can be done here. Work all day on Saturday. On Sunday, be done with the program by 3 p.m. (or 4 p.m.) . Of course, people want to get to the airport in a timely fashion and home at a reasonable hour. Many go back to work on Monday This is merely a suggestion. Lois is so well organized and knows the material so well that she was able to move the class along easily .... however, the end is a bit rushed due to the intensity of the Completion Letter and the travel concerns. I am not so sure that other facilitators will be able to be as effective as Lois. Introductions can be done that first evening,as well. I do realize that this might mean staying an extra night, or people day traveling to the program will need to add one more drive, but it might be worth trying and seeing what kind of feedback we get from it. Another thought: if the two-day workshop draws a large crowd, a co-facilitator might be helpful. Maybe for groups 12 or more ... Hope this helps - kudos to Lois for being a super hero, and kudos to the GRM organization for trying new formats .... we live in a society where the customer/s demands quite a bit; I am happy to be part of an organization that recognizes this fact. Best, Filomena Mazzone

2 Day Personal Workshops
10/28/2018
Participant in Columbus, Ohio
5.00 Stars

I am a Specialist but came as a participant to this 2-day workshop. I wanted to refresh much of what I had learned two years ago as I now begin to move forward with my own clients. Lois has such wonderful illustrations and analogies that I wanted to learn as much as I could with the information that she provided. I certainly learned more about my own grief and the losses that I still need to work on. It was wonderful to be a participant once again but I feel I have gained so much more knowledge to help me present the program even more effectively to others.

2 Day Personal Workshops
10/28/2018
Participant in Columbus, OH
5.00 Stars

This program has helped me learn more about myself, given my head more clarity, and provided me with new helpful tools.

2 Day Personal Workshops
03/14/2000
Participant in Columbus, Ohio
5.00 Stars

Personally the program worked greatly for me, however I measure myself by Lois and those are tough shoes to walk in. I intentionally watch my tone, my position, not to give an emotional griever tissue.

2 Day Personal Workshops
03/11/2018
Participant in KNOXVILLE, tN
5.00 Stars

Really caused me to reconsider old perspectives and thought habits. Gave me hope and straightforward actions to process healthily and feel my feelings...which is a tremendous gift. I’m so grateful that I did this workshop, wish I had done it years ago!

2 Day Personal Workshops
09/23/2018
Participant in Hood River, OR
5.00 Stars

Now that I've participated in the Alumni program, I feel complete on the relationship from that experience. I now feel confident to use the Method on other relationships in my life. I also feel confident to use my Specialist training to co-facilitate the program.

2 Day Personal Workshops
09/25/2018
Participant in Westerville, OH
4.00 Stars

At the time I was introduced to Grief Recovery I had been experiencing grief from the loss of our first grandchild who was still born. I had read many books.... talked to many people, pastors, Drs. and it seemed nothing helped. I was working 2 jobs..School nurse Mon.-Fri. and hospital as OB nurse on Sat. and was a Pastor's wife with many obligations to my church on Sun. I also had 3-4 losses around the same time. A teenager who was in my group was killed in a car accident, a man that we were very close to in the church died with cancer, and my daughter was engaged to be married that summer only to find out that her financee was dating another girl. Every thing was planned and wedding dress bought. I had read everything on grief that I could get my hands on.... nothing helped.... Since I have been doing Grief Recovery I have seen such beautiful healing take place. I am thankful for John James and talked to Russell Friedman per phone more than once. He always had a listening heart and the right answer. He is missed by everyone I know. . My son in law just went to be certified and is excited about starting the program in his church. Thank you for the beauty of learning the Grief Recovery Method... Sincerely Judy Whitener

2 Day Personal Workshops
10/26/2007
Participant in Columbus, OH
4.00 Stars

I really like it, personally ir helps me with some of my losses and I use the tools to help my patients Thanks

2 Day Personal Workshops
11/20/2017
Participant in Sugar Land, TX
5.00 Stars

It helped me mwp out each loss and grief so that i can get to the root of the problem and resolve it with grace.

2 Day Personal Workshops
10/12/2017
Participant in Santa clarita, CA
5.00 Stars

The Grief Recovery Method was THE BEST program that I have attended on how to move forward and get unstuck in the pain of my complicated grief. I look forward to continuing my journey through grief with the tools given to me during the program. The Grief Recovery Method takes the fear out of the future, no to be hostage to your thoughts, and no longer living in a broken state. The Grief Recovery Method is a must!

2 Day Personal Workshops
06/09/2019
Participant in Commack , New York

Pages