Testimonials For Helping Children With Loss

3.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
11/05/2019
Participant in Peoria, AZ
5.00 Stars

It has provided a source of understanding grief. My first comment to Ricki was "I am Irish, Catholic and we don't do grief".. Was I wrong. During the reading of the book "When Children Grieve" I felt feelings for events in my life that I had buried deep in my Emotional Backpack. I have ordered the Grief Recovery Method to use to open my heart up to healing. I am prepared to do the work and not afraid of the outcome. Ricki gave me that gift.

Helping Children With Loss
11/05/2019
Participant in Peoria, AZ
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
10/15/2019
Participant in Broomall, PA
5.00 Stars

Having a framework for processing grief is so much more helpful than just floundering around trying to cope on my own. Searching and trying to implement other resources would have cost me more time and agony. The system's way of organizing the events and emotions so that a person can complete a goodbye letter in a meaningful manner, is a brilliant tool. So thankful to have met Ann and completed this program with her.

Helping Children With Loss
10/03/2019
Participant in Vancouver, Washington
5.00 Stars

It has given me the confidence to talk to my granddaughters when questions arise. Some of the program suggestions will be passed onto their mother and father for use in the future.

Helping Children With Loss
09/29/2019
Participant in Wimberley, TX
5.00 Stars

Volunteering with youth, there are always losses. This will better equip me to properly assist them through the experience.

Helping Children With Loss
09/05/2019
Participant in westervill, OH
4.00 Stars

I was new to the basic concepts of "completion" by means of discovery and communication. The overall structure of the theory is clear and useful. The notion of STERBs directs attention to lots of various ways that uncompleted grief can manifest itself. The initial presentation of six faulty ways to respond to loss was sensible and helpful. The main idea is that emotions are real. If we don't allow children to feel their feelings, those feelings get stuffed down and become dangerous. It was easy to identify examples in my own childhood when I was told to "be strong" and deny my feelings. I found the training helpful mostly in completing aspects of my own grief (my wife died three years ago). But it also helps in thinking through my relationships with my grandchildren.

Helping Children With Loss
08/27/2019
Participant in Newberg, OR
5.00 Stars

I feel appropriately educated to help both children and adults dealing with grief.

Helping Children With Loss
07/17/2019
3.00 Stars

Reading the book: Helping Children Grieve, was quite helpful. I feel better equipped to recognize symptoms of grief in someone else, better able to help my own children through losses in their lives, and more aware of the different aspects of completing a loss. I found some of the specific vocabulary from the book strange at first (e.g. STERBS, and "completing a loss"), but once we discussed these terms as a class, I found them more helpful. One of the most helpful aspects of the book and the class was the checklists for experiences of loss and the related practice in identifying those aspects of loss in the case studies. I appreciated the opportunities to listen to other participants' responses to the readings. I think that the class might be enhanced by more specific questions/ prompts for homework. In a group setting, where the goal is not to deal with our own experiences of loss, it was difficult to avoid becoming too personal in our own stories.

Helping Children With Loss
07/01/2019
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
06/20/2019
4.00 Stars

Went to the class to support my son who is an educator. I had recently had some losses and learned about helping children deal with loss and took away many ideas to help myself. I now feel that i have the tools to help a child dealing with loss.

Helping Children With Loss
06/17/2019
4.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
06/06/2019
4.00 Stars

It worked very well, and I learned a lot of very helpful things. I did find the method very narrow in how it seeks to guide people to completion of grief though. That doesn't mean it's bad. It could be better though.

Helping Children With Loss
06/01/2019
4.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
06/01/2019
2.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
05/17/2019
Participant in Hinton, Alberta
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
05/17/2019
Participant in Hinton, AB
3.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
05/17/2019
Participant in Hinton/Edson, Alberta
4.00 Stars

This has given me helpful tools for my clients who are processing losses. I would highly recommend this program to my parents. However, I would strongly suggest that this program should be face to face and not over the internet. I got way more out of the sessions when I drove to Hinton than I did over 3V.

Helping Children With Loss
05/17/2019
Participant in Hinton, Alberta
3.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
05/17/2019
Participant in Hinton, Alberta
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
04/29/2019
Participant in Findlay, Ohio
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
03/08/2019
Participant in Barrigada, Guam
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
03/08/2019
Participant in Barrigada, Guam
3.00 Stars

With this program, as a teacher. I will know the signs to look for. I am so thankful I learned what not to say when someone is going thru a loss. I would like to become a grief specialist.

Helping Children With Loss
03/08/2019
Participant in Barrigada, GU
5.00 Stars

The program was outstanding! It made me understand what my grandson is going through after 5 years of losing his dad to suicide. The program helped me to listen with my heart and be patience with him.

Helping Children With Loss
03/08/2019
Participant in Barrigada, Guam

Pages