Testimonials For Helping Children With Loss

5.00 Stars

I feel appropriately educated to help both children and adults dealing with grief.

Helping Children With Loss
07/17/2019
3.00 Stars

Reading the book: Helping Children Grieve, was quite helpful. I feel better equipped to recognize symptoms of grief in someone else, better able to help my own children through losses in their lives, and more aware of the different aspects of completing a loss. I found some of the specific vocabulary from the book strange at first (e.g. STERBS, and "completing a loss"), but once we discussed these terms as a class, I found them more helpful. One of the most helpful aspects of the book and the class was the checklists for experiences of loss and the related practice in identifying those aspects of loss in the case studies. I appreciated the opportunities to listen to other participants' responses to the readings. I think that the class might be enhanced by more specific questions/ prompts for homework. In a group setting, where the goal is not to deal with our own experiences of loss, it was difficult to avoid becoming too personal in our own stories.

Helping Children With Loss
07/01/2019
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
06/20/2019
4.00 Stars

Went to the class to support my son who is an educator. I had recently had some losses and learned about helping children deal with loss and took away many ideas to help myself. I now feel that i have the tools to help a child dealing with loss.

Helping Children With Loss
06/17/2019
4.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
06/06/2019
4.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
06/01/2019
4.00 Stars

It worked very well, and I learned a lot of very helpful things. I did find the method very narrow in how it seeks to guide people to completion of grief though. That doesn't mean it's bad. It could be better though.

Helping Children With Loss
06/01/2019
2.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
05/17/2019
Participant in Hinton, Alberta
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
05/17/2019
Participant in Hinton, AB
3.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
05/17/2019
Participant in Hinton/Edson, Alberta
4.00 Stars

This has given me helpful tools for my clients who are processing losses. I would highly recommend this program to my parents. However, I would strongly suggest that this program should be face to face and not over the internet. I got way more out of the sessions when I drove to Hinton than I did over 3V.

Helping Children With Loss
05/17/2019
Participant in Hinton, Alberta
3.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
05/17/2019
Participant in Hinton, Alberta
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
04/29/2019
Participant in Findlay, Ohio
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
03/08/2019
Participant in Barrigada, Guam
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
03/08/2019
Participant in Barrigada, Guam
3.00 Stars

With this program, as a teacher. I will know the signs to look for. I am so thankful I learned what not to say when someone is going thru a loss. I would like to become a grief specialist.

Helping Children With Loss
03/08/2019
Participant in Barrigada, GU
5.00 Stars

The program was outstanding! It made me understand what my grandson is going through after 5 years of losing his dad to suicide. The program helped me to listen with my heart and be patience with him.

Helping Children With Loss
03/08/2019
Participant in Barrigada, Guam
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
03/05/2019
Participant in Chico, CA
5.00 Stars

Outstanding. The method enabled me to become a better listener. The book and group sessions allowed me time to really reflect on my children's loss and grieving. The loss was unexpected and close to the holiday, so it was upsetting to see your children hurting. It was difficult to know how much time and space to provide for healing, reacting, and also visiting with family members. I was aware that other families were struggling to find the right balance as well. Our church newsletter arrived that same day discussing a Grief Group and I just knew that I needed help.

Helping Children With Loss
03/01/2019
Participant in West Windsor, New Jersey
5.00 Stars

It has given me skills to help me help my children grieve for their close friend.

Helping Children With Loss
03/01/2019
Participant in Princeton Junction, NJ
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
03/01/2019
Participant in Barrigada, Guam
4.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
11/20/2018
Participant in Westerville, Ohio
5.00 Stars

The program made me aware of the loss/grief children experience almost daily. It equipped me with the skills to help validate the feelings children experience and to be mindful of all the potential sources of loss/grief that occur in normal developmental experiences and transitions. Helping children complete these emotions, and giving them the tools necessary to move forward is a privilege that honors their humanity.

Helping Children With Loss
11/13/2018
Participant in Westerville, Ohio
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
11/13/2018
Participant in Westerville, Oh

Pages