Testimonials For Helping Children With Loss

5.00 Stars

IT´S HELPING ME WITH MY GRAND CHILDREN

Helping Children With Loss
06/07/2021
4.00 Stars

What we discussed during these four weeks makes sense but when you are in the midst of it, life feels heavy. I needed someone to articulate what I needed to do to support my child as their life drastically changed and the information was like a lightbulb. It's a no brainer what you should do, but reading it and discussing ideas and tools to inject into your parenting was exactly what I needed - not only for our situation but for the future as well.

Helping Children With Loss
06/05/2021
5.00 Stars

The program has helped me learn and unlearn how to properly help my children with grief. It was extremely helpful and informative!

Helping Children With Loss
06/05/2021
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
06/02/2021
4.00 Stars

The grief recovery method has helped me think through what is needed and how I should approach situations. I have felt more empowered to address the needs and feelings of my kids. I still find myself making mistakes dismissing some feelings but I know it would have been much more frequent without this course.

Helping Children With Loss
05/08/2021
5.00 Stars

Naomi was very empathetic and a great listener. I will be using the information regarding grief/loss to help children who come into my care through the foster system. The program really helped me to see things from their perspective to allow for healing.

Helping Children With Loss
05/08/2021
5.00 Stars

Helped me to learn to work through my grief so I can better help my son and children I work with.

Helping Children With Loss
05/06/2021
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
05/03/2021
5.00 Stars

I just finished and have not put into full use, but from day one I had a different way of looking at grief. My own grief and the grief of my children. I am looking forward to extending my understanding and knowledge by going through other Grief Recovery classes.

Helping Children With Loss
04/27/2021
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
04/22/2021
4.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
04/20/2021
5.00 Stars

It has helped me recognize opportunities to better support my daughter in talking about her emotions surrounding her father's incarceration.

Helping Children With Loss
04/20/2021
5.00 Stars

I was completely unaware of the unfortunate and harmful behaviors that I was damaging myself, others and most importantly to me, my children with. Grief in all of it’s many faces is a natural process in life. It is important to allow and be allowed to traverse through it in order to “complete “ the process of grief. I now feel as though my life’s tool belt is so much more equipped to confidently move forward through these challenges that are life and to be a true benefit for my babies as they move through their lives. I am so grateful for Marilynn and the Grief Recovery Institute for the gifts that I have received in this short course. Marilynn thank you for your honesty and patience as I experienced all of this information and started incorporating it into my life. You are a blessing! Thank you to all! Be Blessed!!

Helping Children With Loss
04/18/2021
4.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
04/17/2021
5.00 Stars

Starting the course I was looking into it for a friend and I wanted to know more about the program to potentially offer it within our community. I was presently surprised to apply it to my own life and see what a valuable tool the program is. I am much more aware of recognizing grief particularly in children. As simple as something on the playground happening and seeing it as a loss to them, even though it seems small to me. I am more patient and taking time to listen, acknowledge their concerns and work them through their feelings. Learning the words not to say and the questions not to ask was such an eye opener for me. Overall the tools given has changed my way of thinking about grief, our responses, how to enable people to completion and recognizing it is different for each individual. There is a lot of information in a short period of time and I will take time to go back over again. It is something I will pass on to friends /family when grief occurs and I definitely would like to look into more programs offered to be able to offer a much needed tool within our community. thank you

Helping Children With Loss
04/08/2021
4.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
04/08/2021
5.00 Stars

I work as a mental health navigator at a school district. My job is to support staff and families with mental health resources and connections to community supports, as well as , to provide training on areas involving mental health. As you are likely aware, therapists do not often receive specific training on how to help people process grief, especially children. There were many things that the Grief Recovery Method addressed in their Helping Children with Loss program that were extremely helpful to me in my own work with children in my part-time work as a child therapist, as well as, my work at the school district advising others on best practices to support children who are grieving. I think there is a huge gap in services for our children who suffer from divorce. I like the structured way the Helping Children with Loss program outlines a process for supporting children suffering loss. I will definitely be taking what I learned to my school and advocating for more staff to take this program, as well as, letting families/parents know about the adult grief workshops through the Grief Recovery Method. Our facilitator had tremendous passion for the transformative possibilities that the Grief Recovery Method offers and I am definitely sold.

Helping Children With Loss
04/06/2021
5.00 Stars

I have walked away with deeper understanding of the types of losses that children can experience and how I am most able to help. There were a couple of areas of loss that I could not comprehend, where I wanted better understanding and compassion and this course has successfully achieved that.

Helping Children With Loss
04/06/2021
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
04/06/2021
5.00 Stars

The content of The course was definitely an eye-opener for me! The content is both comprehensive and teaches real practical skills. It became apparent grief can affect someone greatly in different ways, not only due to death of a close one, but loss in general, which is something I’d never thought of before. This course would be tremendously beneficial to Children, and should be part of the national curriculum.

Helping Children With Loss
04/06/2021
5.00 Stars

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It has made me see things more clearly and openly. I now how important it is to be honest with your emotions and respect others.

Helping Children With Loss
04/05/2021
5.00 Stars

It is providing a solid foundation on how to move forward from grief

Helping Children With Loss
03/29/2021
3.00 Stars

The book described a different way to cope with loss than I'd ever heard about. For example, Discovery and Completion are an amazing way to look at loss. The Apologies, Forgiveness, Significant Emotional Statements, and Fond Memories are extremely helpful to help oneself and others to process uncommunicated feelings. The Emotional Energy Checklists are useful tools to help oneself or others put feelings into some sort of sequence and write a completion letter.

Helping Children With Loss
03/25/2021
4.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
03/21/2021

Pages