Testimonials For Helping Children With Loss

5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
02/09/2021
5.00 Stars

This program has helped me approach my children differently in how we are working through the losses they are experiencing due to Covid and forced isolation. I also feel better prepared to work with students who might experience loss.

Helping Children With Loss
02/09/2021
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
02/01/2021
4.00 Stars

My awareness and implementation of new tools and strategies were vital!

Helping Children With Loss
01/28/2021
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
01/28/2021
2.00 Stars

The process of writing the completion letter was helpful. the process of reading the letter at the end was not helpful. It was hard to read such difficult content with no verbal response, and then just sit in silence for 10 minutes while the facilitator stared at me. This is not a critique of the facilitator. But, this was not what i needed after reading my letter.

Helping Children With Loss
01/26/2021
5.00 Stars

I wasn’t sure what to expect on the very first night, but I was amongst friends as all four of us work at the same school, Dawn was so lovely to talk to that before long it was like 5 friends chatting and she explained things very clearly and with such passion. I now have a deeper understanding of the term grief and look forward to using my new found understanding in the school with the children who need our help.

Helping Children With Loss
01/25/2021
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
12/28/2020
4.00 Stars

The program helped me to understand how to respond to children when they experience a loss. I realize that what we say to them is very important. We cannot minimize their loss. Children need to be encouraged to write a letter to their deceased loved to include forgiving the individual and apologize for anything that they may have done.

Helping Children With Loss
12/14/2020
5.00 Stars

This was an Outstanding program and it helped me so much to get in touch with grief and loss and how i can help others.

Helping Children With Loss
12/14/2020
4.00 Stars

The grief recovery method was a great way for me to realize my own incomplete grief as well as get ready to help my children, or the children that I work with, grieve. I am excited to think about these new methods and have them in my back pocket to help others. I would recommend this program to others who are curious about how to help their children recover from grief.

Helping Children With Loss
12/03/2020
3.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
12/03/2020
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
12/03/2020
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
12/03/2020
4.00 Stars

This program has helped me to understand the importance of apologies, forgiveness and statements of emotional energy that must be a part of the grief recovery process and that behind every person with "issues" is someone who has not gone through the completion of the grieving process. Also that feeling sad is not bad, and that anger is a mask for sadness. The only way we can effectively help children or other people grieve is if we own our own "stuff". It's not about what we have to say, it's about what they have to say.

Helping Children With Loss
12/01/2020
Participant in Hinton, AB
3.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
12/01/2020
Participant in hinton, alberta
5.00 Stars

Working through How Children Grieve was a journey of discovery, firstly recognizing the deeply ingrained myths that I have learned and unwittingly passed along to my own children. This awareness as well as using the Emotional Energy Checklist will help me to set an environment where there are safe places for children to at very least speak their truth. As I have reflected on my own experiences of grief and loss, I am grateful that there are additional tools for me to explore further using the Grief Recovery Handbook. This has been a heart opening experience with a gracious and knowledgeable guide. Thank you

Helping Children With Loss
11/28/2020
5.00 Stars

As sometimes happens in the lives of the little people we care for and/or love, my granddaughter has had more losses than many adults I know. I long to help her to deal productively with the losses she has experienced. During the course Helping Children With Loss, I learned to recognize grief myths and how I inadvertently propagate them in my own life, in my children's lives, and in my grandchildren's lives. I learned what I do to avoid feeling the pain of my own losses, and learned to recognize what my kids and grandkids do to avoid their pain. What is especially encouraging, is having leaned to DO something productive to move the grieving into completion. I believe that what I have learned had the potential to genuinely change the dynamics in our family for the better!

Helping Children With Loss
11/28/2020
3.00 Stars

The program was very good and well delivered, but I think it may not have been a great entry point. This isn’t a bad thing though— it’s actually hinted at in one of the earlier survey questions. Entering this training with a view to providing support for families with children going through grief/loss brought up some personal insights that required attention. There was a tension between wanting to dive into that a bit, recognizing, however that the training had a different focus. Not as dramatic as, but akin to wanting to put my oxygen mask on first, but being taught to put the mask on someone else. We were gently redirected when that tension was mentioned. And we were also informed of other Grief Recovery courses that would help address those concerns.

Helping Children With Loss
11/28/2020
4.00 Stars

My experience on the pilot program of When Children Grieve opened up my eyes to so many aspects of grief. I have either heard or said some of the wrong statements regarding grief. I am a widow and I have suffered other losses in my life and I now realize I have to recover from them. The safety and nurturing that I experienced during the class was very helpful. At the very least, I will stop myself from saying some of the things that were not helpful to others experiencing loss. I am very appreciative of this opportunity to learn more on this topic and have already recommended your method to those who need it. Thank you.

Helping Children With Loss
11/28/2020
5.00 Stars

It has allowed me to move forward with my life as I felt stuck in a situation that I couldn't.

Helping Children With Loss
11/17/2020
Participant in Pocatello, ID
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
11/17/2020
Participant in Pearland, TX
5.00 Stars

Helpful for anyone experiencing or helping others grieve. Not just death but other situations.

Helping Children With Loss
11/05/2020
Participant in Pearland, TX
5.00 Stars

The program has really opened my eyes to the verbiage I use when speaking with someone experiencing grief. There are things we say to others when grieving that we mean as support, but may be received in a different manner. This has really made me aware of the words I use. In addition, the program has helped with my own grief and moving forward.

Helping Children With Loss
11/05/2020
Participant in Pearland, TX

Pages