Testimonials For Helping Children With Loss

2.00 Stars

I was satisfied with learning how to listen with our ears on our hearts. Also what language is appropriate when talking with a child and others.

Helping Children With Loss
11/05/2020
Participant in Pearland, TEXAS
3.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
11/04/2020
Participant in Edmonton, AB
5.00 Stars

This program was good as it opened my eyes to what is loss. Especially from a childs point of view. Moving, or loss of a favorite toy was not something I thought of as loss. But after going through this program it made me more aware. This is good because I can now have discussions with this knowledge and will hopefully be able to help them through this. For my own past loss I realized that maybe I have not fully grieved the loss of my parents when I was 11 and 17 years old. Although I thought I had, the Emotional Energy Checklist and letter writing sections of the book made me think back to how something like that would have been good to do. I look forward to sitting down and going through this process and to grieve. Thank you for this course it was great.

Helping Children With Loss
10/29/2020
Participant in Sherwood Park, Alberta
5.00 Stars

I am so glad that I said yes to this course. I lost my Dad 2 years ago and I am looking forward to doing a family completion of our grief. Carleen Ross was the perfect facilitator for our group. I really enjoyed the book and the perspective it gave me. The main reason I said yes to this course was to support our children in dealing with the move from school to distance learning during Covid 19. Carleen's examples really helped us process and look at other perspectives and possible losses that we might have overlooked. There is an expanded awareness of the conversations we can continue to foster in our home. I am filled with grace and gratitude!

Helping Children With Loss
10/29/2020
Participant in Sherwood Park, Alberta
4.00 Stars

I became aware of how this could help other people with their own grief and that of children.

Helping Children With Loss
10/25/2020
Participant in Phoenix , AZ
5.00 Stars

To say it in one word, it would be liberating! It went beyond what I had expected and I can honestly say that I have learned so much, both about myself and about my kids. I feel I need to review it and reread the book a few times in order to get as much as I want out of it, but even through this 4-week period, I have gained so much from it, especially in ways of discovering and expressing emotions, listening with my heart and being an example to my kids and as well as a lot of unlearning to do, but it's a hopeful type of learning rather than overwhelming with too much to grasp. I'm very thankful for this program and all you have put into it and I feel better equipped to help my children when situations of grief come up, as well as things that they have been through in the past. There has not been a super hard and major event or loss in their lives yet, but I am extremely thankful that I have gone through this program now and I believe that this program is for everyone, not only those holding on to difficulties and pain. How much more can we be a help and support to relatives, friends, neighbors, kids we work with, our own children, etc. if we took a little time to learn more in this area, what you've learned and gone through and then how you put it so well into this book and program. Thank you again from the bottom of my heart.

Helping Children With Loss
10/15/2020
Participant in Sarre-Union, Alsace
3.00 Stars

The program was helpful in thinking about the myths we carry around about grief and recovery. I had a hard time with this idea of "completing" grief--doesn't seem to fit this idea that we live with the loss for a lifetime. I also think the program should consider how this process could work with children who are hesitant or resistant to talking about their grief, articulating forgiveness and apologies, etc. The examples used in the book were of children who readily spoke about their grief -- it's just not that easy in the real world, especially with teenagers. It was frustrating, at times, to read about strategies that can't just be put into place with children who won't talk.

Helping Children With Loss
10/14/2020
Participant in North Haven, CT
4.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
10/14/2020
Participant in Fairfield, Connecticut
5.00 Stars

The program provided new insights as well as reinforced existing background. The facilitators and participants worked synergistically to engage me and develop my thinking and ability in the area of loss. It was a fantastic experience for which I am grateful. BRAVO!

Helping Children With Loss
10/14/2020
Participant in Virtually, during
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
10/14/2020
Participant in Virtual , CT
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
10/14/2020
Participant in WESTPORT, CT
3.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
10/14/2020
Participant in Fairfield, CT
5.00 Stars

This program was outstanding! It made me understand what my grandson is going through 2 years after losing his dad to suicide. The program helped me to listen with my heart and be understanding with him. I feel like we can pick up the pieces and start moving forward.

Helping Children With Loss
09/25/2020
5.00 Stars

This program has helped me look at grief from a different angle. The myths have truly stuck with me and helped me be conscious of communicating with those who are grieving.

Helping Children With Loss
09/25/2020
Participant in Pearland, TX
4.00 Stars

I have been able to learn the strategies of helping children to deal with their loss, as well as to help myself. I was able to learn about STERBS, which can keep me from facing and receiving the healing that my children and I need. I was given the word to help communicate with my children, which was extremely helpful.

Helping Children With Loss
09/25/2020
Participant in Friendswood, TX
5.00 Stars

With school, church, and basically life closing, my social butterfly daughter turned into a worrywart. It felt like we were walking on eggshells around her. Now my husband and I are on the same page and able to support our daughter as a solid family unit. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

Helping Children With Loss
09/24/2020
5.00 Stars

Volunteering with the youth group at my church, there are always losses. This program has better equipped me to appropriately assist them through these experience.

Helping Children With Loss
09/24/2020
5.00 Stars

Wow! This program has opened my eyes not only to the losses of my kids, but also to a lot of my own losses I never dealt with over the years. It has also opened my eyes to how we talk to our kids and always wanting to make things better for them, but it's ok to be sad, mad, and cry.

Helping Children With Loss
09/24/2020
5.00 Stars

The Helping Children with Loss program has given me the confidence to talk to my granddaughters when questions arise during this crazy time we are living in.

Helping Children With Loss
09/24/2020
5.00 Stars

Taking the Helping Children with Loss program has motivated me to want to take the grief recovery method program for the losses I have experienced in my life. I realized I needed to work on me so I could better help my kids.

Helping Children With Loss
09/24/2020
5.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
08/28/2020
Participant in Rapid City , Sd
4.00 Stars
Helping Children With Loss
08/28/2020
Participant in On line, SD
4.00 Stars

I am more confident now in working with my clients who are experiencing grief. Thank you!

Helping Children With Loss
08/28/2020
Participant in Rapid City, South Dakota
5.00 Stars

The book, When Children Grieve, opened my eyes as an educator, counselor, and parent. I appreciated the challenge of looking at things differently and how to handle grief with my family and students.

Helping Children With Loss
08/28/2020
Participant in Sioux Falls, SD

Pages