Testimonials For Support Groups

5.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/30/2018
Participant in Findlay, OH
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/30/2018
Participant in Findlay, Ohio
4.00 Stars

The program has helped me to learn and adopt a proven process to moving past the grief I feel about various events and losses in my life. I believe I understand the way it works now and will go back to it periodically, whenever I feel I might benefit from going through the process again. I am glad that I have something to share with others who are grieving, too.

Support Groups
11/30/2018
Participant in Plano, TX
5.00 Stars

I have known that in many areas of my loss I have tucked my feelings inside and only allowed myself to grieve at certain times of the year. My husband and I attended therapy together after our daughter died and I feel this is what kept our marriage together and my getting out of bed each and every day. However, it has been easy to go on keeping the feelings I felt myself separate and tucked away. I have been afraid for many years that at some point my grief and unresolved areas would rear up and I would be in trouble. I come from a family with strong addiction spanning across multiple generations. Obtaining the tools in this process has given me a chance to work on myself and these feelings I have tucked away. Out of fear I have not looked at many of these feelings until now. Having suffered the loss of my father and another child after the child I chose to work on I knew I was stacking unhealthy coping skills up to only show up again in my life. I now feel I can be more successful with working through grief and losses when I am faced with them again. I have spoken to many friends and family members about my experience with taking the Grief Recovery course and each time I feel so empowered to keep working on myself and using tools I gained in this process.

Support Groups
11/30/2018
Participant in Findlay, Ohio
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/29/2018
Participant in East Lansing, MI
5.00 Stars

Program helped me work through losses, realize how things had affected me in the past, learn forgiveness is not condoning, and how to be a better listener.

Support Groups
11/29/2018
Participant in East Lansing , MI
4.00 Stars

The program gave me information, a safe space, and skills to examine grief in my life. I learned from the book, from our leader, from the other group members, and from the introspective time I took using the homework activities. I plan to use the method to re-examine other significant losses I have lived through (and that I may live through in the future), with the hope of completing those losses, also. Thank you!

Support Groups
11/29/2018
Participant in East Lansing, MI
2.00 Stars

I recognize that there are many losses that I need to deal with that I did not anticipate had an affect on my life.

Support Groups
11/29/2018
Participant in East Lansing, Michigan
4.00 Stars

Help me to know that there's people out there that really care and it OK to greaf

Support Groups
11/28/2018
Participant in New munster, WIs
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/27/2018
Participant in Moncton, NB
3.00 Stars

It helped me to understand if I was undergoing a typical experience of grief or not and found that I was doing OK.

Support Groups
11/27/2018
Participant in Lenexa, KS
4.00 Stars

It brought realization of hidden feelings reactions that needed completion

Support Groups
11/27/2018
Participant in Olathe, Ks
5.00 Stars

I was able to organize and understand my life events and the grief associated with it for the first time, and I was able to see more clearly what I need to work through. I began to really understand how unfinished communication is affecting my life, and I feel I have a great method for dealing with it.

Support Groups
11/26/2018
Participant in Schwenksville, PA
4.00 Stars

I hadn’t thought about it since completing the class except for going to a funeral and being more cognizant of what I said. I will also make an effort to call my friends who have had losses To try and offer comfort

Support Groups
11/26/2018
Participant in Frankfort , KY
4.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/26/2018
Participant in Schwenksville , Pa
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/26/2018
Participant in New York, NY
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/26/2018
Participant in New York, NY
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/26/2018
Participant in New York, New York
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/26/2018
Participant in Reno, NV
5.00 Stars

I was able to identify incomplete issues in my life as it pertains to health & wellness as well as incomplete relationships that needed apologies & forgiveness thereby completing unfinished emotionally draining relationships.

Support Groups
11/26/2018
Participant in New York, New York
5.00 Stars

I've learned a lot about Grief. How everyone's grief is different and unique to the individual. I will not judge anyone again for their behavior effected by grief or loss. I feel that the process of completion left me free of the pain I was holding onto in my relationship. I will certainly continue to work through other relationships now using this program.

Support Groups
11/23/2018
Participant in Dunnville, Ontario
4.00 Stars

I think for me personally the program was very interesting and helpful although I still have the death of my 23 year old to deal with and my dad. I think I could have benefitted with added time to work on those two deaths or at least a second one. Also I find that grieving a parent is quite different than grieving a child because most of us expect to outlive our parents. We know from an early age that that is the probability. I think I would prefer to work with those who have lost a sibling or child or spouse and have the parent grief as a separate program. I am going to continue with one of the people from my group to work through those other deaths. We all have more than one to deal with. I loved the relationship mapping part of the program - that seems to me to be the most powerful and even though we may not remember all the emotional events we have gone through, that was a simple way to view it all. I also felt the letter was so important. Thank you.

Support Groups
11/22/2018
Participant in Watchung, NJ
5.00 Stars

The first three weeks were taken up by education regarding grief and grieving. For me it could have all been covered in the first week. Having only eight weeks in all I became hesitant but knowing the facilitators I trusted that the program works. After completing the loss history graph I began to feel the value. I chose a completely different event than what drew me to the program. Writing out the forgiveness, apology and emotional thoughts exercise was rough emotionally but when I completed my letter it truly was a release. I attended with a dear friend of mine and we both agree the power of this method is amazing and we are continuing to work on additional events sharing and learning together. The program gave me strength over events I had no idea I could have. I recommend my facilitators and the Grief Recovery Method program to anyone grieving.

Support Groups
11/20/2018
Participant in Reno, NV
3.00 Stars

My comment is that this program is like "speed dating" for therapy. I don't recall why I went in the direction of choosing my mother to do the relationship graph, but perhaps because that relationship was much more troubled than others. It was great for working out issues with her. After years of therapy, it forced me to address issues that I had tip toed around in therapy. However, I came to the group to deal with my grief over the recent loss of my father and the not so recent loss of my cousin, who I still mourn intensely. I don't know that this program has helped me with those losses. Perhaps it has and I don't realize it. Perhaps I should do the relationship graph as to my relationship with them and it will help. What I'm trying to say is that this method seems great for dealing with less than great relationships, but for ones that were pretty good (in my case with my cousin, there's not much negative that I can even think of), I don't know how helpful it is.

Support Groups
11/19/2018
Participant in Watchung, NJ

Pages