Testimonials For Support Groups

5.00 Stars

I was able to complete my relationship with my father that passed away 3 years ago. I am so excited by the change in how I feel that I share my experience with anyone that will listen.

Support Groups
10/12/2018
Participant in Melville , NY
5.00 Stars

I was able to put my grief in perspective. I could move on.

Support Groups
10/09/2018
Participant in Frankfort, KY
4.00 Stars

I have been able to move on to a life not dependent upon what my wife would have done.

Support Groups
10/07/2018
Participant in Blanchester, Ohio
4.00 Stars

By reading the Grief Recovery Handbook, I learned so many things about grief and loss that I did not know before. Especially in the regard of how 'others' treat/react to people that are grieving by death/loss.

Support Groups
10/01/2018
Participant in MURFREESBORO, Tennessee
5.00 Stars

Maybe the format was easy by design at first. This is how I experienced it. First 3-5 weeks were not deeply emotionally taxing and that encouraged me to think I could really do this and dive deep. So I did. Seems the back half of the program is directly proportionate to how much was invested in and set up by the first half. I didn’t see it coming, the effect really walloped me in a good way.

Support Groups
09/27/2018
Participant in Nashville, TN
5.00 Stars

This program helped me become aware of numerous losses that have occurred throughout my life....not just loss from a death. It also gave me the tools to process these losses and in a very safe and accepting environment. I wish I had taken this workshop earlier in life as the awareness of multiple losses and the tools provided to work through them would have spared me much grief and pain. I plan on continuing to do my homework...relationship graphs and completion letters. Perhaps implementing a program for children would help us as a society. I am very grateful to Katie and Crossroads Hospice for offering this workshop. It’s one of the best healing experiences I’ve ever had!

Support Groups
09/25/2018
Participant in Lenexa , KS
5.00 Stars

The GRM has help with my approach to relationships and has given me a structure around which I can begin to deal with traumatic grief from early in my life. It has freed me and help me identify behaviors I have used to block out grief. Every time I do a new graph(3) I feel another weight lifted

Support Groups
09/25/2018
Participant in Westerville, OH
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
09/25/2018
Participant in Westerville , OH
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
09/25/2018
Participant in Westerville , OH
4.00 Stars
Support Groups
09/25/2018
Participant in Westerville, OH
5.00 Stars

I gained insight into my pain, how I cope with difficulties, and how to gain strength from within.

Support Groups
09/24/2018
Participant in Beachwood, OH
5.00 Stars

I got a lot out of this process and feel very much at ease now about my loss. I feel like I can move past it and appreciate it for what it was at one time. I was holding on to a pain/loss for 10years and it made me very angry and sad all the time. I’m much more relaxed when I talk to my ex and it’s helped us be better friends now that I let go of the anger. Now I feel ready to apply this process and the techniques our coach, Sharon, taught us to a different loss.

Support Groups
09/24/2018
Participant in Edison, NJ
5.00 Stars

I was able to understand and learn about my thought process from earlier losses. I was able to find clarity in my feelings and see what was true about my circumstances. There were events that I had carried so much burden and there were things that I had to differentiate what were my feelings and what were true and what was truly my responsibility. I learned so much about myself and the clarity gave me a lot of healing in how I view myself and how to move forward.

Support Groups
09/06/2018
Participant in Santa Clara , CA
5.00 Stars

It is just the beginning of my healing process, but I believe the program revealed straightforward tools for embracing and releasing the deep emotions tied to loss. I look forward to a longer and steadier relief as I release each loss from my past. I caught a glimpse of what it might feel like and it is worth pursuing.

Support Groups
09/03/2018
Participant in aberdeen, MD
5.00 Stars

we just finished yesterday but I noticed all along the process that I was more aware that somehow beyond my understanding I was feeling listened to and better than when I arrived

Support Groups
08/31/2018
Participant in Collingswood, NJ
5.00 Stars

Marie was very helpful in helping me to uncover and better understand my own feelings. She was sincere and gave me a feeling of honesty and compassion, while helping to steer me along through the program. She was very good at applying the concepts in the book to real life, and my life situation in particular. The skills she helped me learn are not only beneficial for coping better with the death of my mother, but will be very helpful in coping with some of my current relationships that are not so great.

Support Groups
08/31/2018
Participant in Collingswood, NJ
5.00 Stars

Writing the completion letter was so very hard for me. It brought up all the intense pain i had been feeling and even led me to have suicidal thoughts again. But the more i read and re-read my letter i came to realize that i was saying good bye to my grief, good bye to my pain.

Support Groups
08/31/2018
Participant in Collingswood, NJ
5.00 Stars

I have had a group meeting to look forward to every week. I’ve now gotten complete with my dad and am living life totally new with him, like we get to start from scratch. This is also helping me see patterns with other relationships and I am seeing that I’m capable of having healthy, exciting, loving relationships again. I’ve also made friends from the group and am creating healthy, powerful relationships in my life. Loved this experience, will recommend others.

Support Groups
08/27/2018
Participant in Oceanside, CA
5.00 Stars

I would recommend this group to anyone experiencing grief or loss. I felt safe and supported during a really hard emotional time in my life. The meetings and homework helped me learn new tools and ways of thinking. I am so appreciative for this experience.

Support Groups
08/27/2018
Participant in Oceanside, CA
5.00 Stars

I have learned so much about myself and my reactions!! I am no longer as depressed and isolated as I was. Even my co-workers commented that I look healthier and happier! I can't thank Thera and the other group members enough. Thank you!!!

Support Groups
08/27/2018
Participant in Oceanside, CA
5.00 Stars

Helped me to define the grief I was going thru and realize how the myths were not helpful to my recovery. Learned what STERBS I used to console myself and how it doesn’t help but why and how I learned to use them. Really helped me to discover the baggage I carried with me and how not completing those life impacting events kept me from healing. It also helped me to see how it caused triggers in my life that led to negative emotions and actions. That was a biggie for me. Had given me the tools to deal with my grief, anger and negative emotions,

Support Groups
08/23/2018
Participant in Santa Clara, CA
5.00 Stars

I have carried the grief from my childhood, concerning the physical abuse my father gave me from about 9 years to my last beating with a belt at 17 years old. This damaged me in so many ways. Trust, not feeling loved, Not being good enough throughout my life. So much damage inflicted. The Grief Recovery Method helped me put the abuse in perspective. Taking some responsibility for the things that happened in my life. To say Goodbye to all the misery and Goodbye to my father for the last time. In order to move on from the past. ( my father passed away a few years ago) was unable to say goodbye cause we were in different states. Now, I have said goodbye for good!! I really appreciate the methods I learned and will use them on the many people I need to say the things I didn’t say and then goodbye!! THANK YOU GRIEF RECOVERY INSTITUTE! JT

Support Groups
08/22/2018
Participant in Boise, ID
5.00 Stars

The program demonstrated the need for me to identify and bring closure to all the losses in my life so that I could move forward. I will reuse the relationship graph until I have addressed all the losses identified.

Support Groups
08/16/2018
Participant in Mars, PA
5.00 Stars

Your star rating does not work. Trying to pick outstanding but it kept selecting all choices.

Support Groups
08/16/2018
Participant in Mars , PA

Pages