Testimonials For Support Groups

5.00 Stars

I increased my understanding of grief and loss, the way people deal with and respond to it; I gained skills to work through difficult and painful feelings so that I can let them go. I thought the homework was well-laid out and not too arduous. I liked the pace of the class and exercises. I appreciated Joanna's enthusiasm and encouragement and praise and normalizing of emotions/behaviors. I connected with others in the group and will continue to do grief recovery work with them. I am looking forward to the alumni class.

Support Groups
11/19/2018
Participant in Eugene, OR
3.00 Stars

The program made me deal with unfinished business, conflicting emotions, made me think of grief in a different way. I think it did help me bring some closure for me.

Support Groups
11/19/2018
Participant in Watchung, NJ
5.00 Stars

Helped me grieve

Support Groups
11/19/2018
Participant in Watchug , Nj
3.00 Stars

My comment is that this program is like "speed dating" for therapy. I don't recall why I went in the direction of choosing my mother to do the relationship graph, but perhaps because that relationship was much more troubled than others. It was great for working out issues with her. After years of therapy, it forced me to address issues that I had tip toed around in therapy. However, I came to the group to deal with my grief over the recent loss of my father and the not so recent loss of my cousin, who I still mourn intensely. I don't know that this program has helped me with those losses. Perhaps it has and I don't realize it. Perhaps I should do the relationship graph as to my relationship with them and it will help. What I'm trying to say is that this method seems great for dealing with less than great relationships, but for ones that were pretty good (in my case with my cousin, there's not much negative that I can even think of), I don't know how helpful it is.

Support Groups
11/19/2018
Participant in Watchung, NJ
5.00 Stars

My perspective has changed, I discovered realizations that I would not have otherwise been able to uncover. It was hard to go through the process, I was procrastinating and not wanting to always move through it, but being in a group setting helped me stay accountable, and in the end I’m grateful I did.

Support Groups
11/19/2018
Participant in Bayshore, Ny
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/18/2018
Participant in Salt Lake City, Utah
4.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/16/2018
Participant in Lathrup Village, Michigan
3.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/15/2018
Participant in Bozeman, MONTANA
5.00 Stars

I learned things that not only helped me to work on a specific loss from the past but also strategies to use for future incidents of loss/grief so that the feelings aren’t pushed down for years, which will only make it worse.

Support Groups
11/15/2018
Participant in Oceanside, CA
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/15/2018
Participant in Malta, Ny
4.00 Stars

It allowed me to gain insight into other losses that have effected me and that I had not recovered from.

Support Groups
11/15/2018
Participant in Bozeman, MT
4.00 Stars

The program has helped me begin the work of the "rest of my life". I was so caught up in trying to hang on to the shreds of my old life (out of fear) that I was not seeing what was in front of me. By going through the program and making peace with the unfinished, I was able to open my heart to not only the future, but to live in the present.

Support Groups
11/14/2018
Participant in New Munster, WI
5.00 Stars

I came to my first Grief Recovery class because I want to become a certified Grief Recovery Specialist. I believe it is necessary to go through the Grief Recovery class as a participant to fully understand and embrace the Grief Recovery Method. I left the class having experienced the completion of a relationship i did not realize I needed to complete. I came back a few months later for an Alumni class and did some work on another relationship. The third class I participated in was dealing with children who have experienced a loss. Lois Hall was facilitator for each of these groups. I look forward to being trained as a Grief Recovery Specialist with Lois in January. I have come to view one of the Grief Recovery Methods purpose as , the re-normalizing of experiencing conflicting emotions as a result of a loss and working through those emotions in a tangible repeatable way. Grief Recovery becomes a way of living that examines the depth and complexity of lost relationships, understands what has been left unsaid, and grants the Griever a space and time to complete the relationship by speaking the unspoken apologies, forgiveness and significant emotional statements. The Grief Recovery Method is the formal class and the by chance encounter. The Grief Recovery Method beckons the griever to remember, examine, apologize, forgive and find peace. I have come to a place of peace, having followed the Grief Recovery Method to communicate and complete significant lost relationships. And when the pain of grief once again stabs my heart, I will return to the now familiar path of Grief Recovery , examine, apologize, forgive, communicate, complete the relationship and move forward with peace.

Support Groups
11/13/2018
Participant in Westerville , Ohio
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/13/2018
Participant in Greensboro, NC
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/13/2018
Participant in Westerville , Ohio
3.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/13/2018
Participant in Greenville, SC
5.00 Stars

My husband passed away in Sept 2017. I am still pretty raw!! I knew I needed some help. A friend recommended Nancy Hull to me. After speaking with her I knew this is what I needed. This program helped me learn how to handle and process my grief. Learned how to deal with everyday issues while going through grief. I learned a lot about myself and feel more at peace than I have in a long time. There were some tough days but Nancy helped me get through them!! I would highly recommend this program to anyone who is dealing not just with a loss by death but anything that they are grieving. Absolutely amazing!!

Support Groups
11/13/2018
Participant in Greensboro, North Carolina
1.00 Stars

I am not sure at this time that the program has help me at all. I may see that it did unknowingly in the future. I did learn new things, although I do not think I was able to 'complete' my grief journey as the class is intended to do.

Support Groups
11/13/2018
Participant in Sunbury, OH
5.00 Stars

I gained so much from learning to complete relationships. I learned that certain things were holding me back because of my reluctance to face the pain. Grief Recovery Method helped me understand that forgiveness is for myself and I was finally able to forgive someone who caused me great pain. I also feel better prepared to deal with losses as they come.

Support Groups
11/13/2018
Participant in Greenville, SC
5.00 Stars

The program helped me to focus on issues I thought had long ago been solved. I did not realize that I was seeking approval from my directors at work the same way in which I sought approval from my mother, always resulting in feelings of failure and insecurity. I had no idea I had transferred these feelings and projected them onto these women who reminded me of aspects of my mother. It has kept me trapped and wondering if I should find other work. I stopped looking for a way out when I realized I had been working for the same woman for 12 years and I have only been at my current job for two years! Repeating these patterns has caused me stress, health problems, and a lack of peace. Going through the process of identifying and forgiving my own mother has shown me that these other women are not my mother and I have no business giving them so much power over me. I am not a wounded child forever. I am a woman on a path toward healing.

Support Groups
11/13/2018
Participant in GREENSBORO, NC
5.00 Stars

Program was outstanding. I have recommended the program to my sister and daughter. My daughter will be attending Mary Anna’s next Grief Recovery group. I continue to benefit from what I learned during grief recovery.

Support Groups
11/12/2018
Participant in Frankfort, Ky
5.00 Stars

This program was a game changer in dealing with my grief. I lost my 5 week old nephew to SIDS in 2009 and thought I had worked through the grieving process. However since taking this class I feel like I have a healthy closure and I'm not haunted with fear and regret. George did such a great job in setting an example of how to do the work and was vulnerable with his story. This was very helpful. I loved this class

Support Groups
11/11/2018
Participant in Reno , NV
3.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/10/2018
Participant in Boise , ID
5.00 Stars

It helped me to learn how I had been avoiding my emotions and that it is ok to feel whatever emotions I feel without judgement.

Support Groups
11/09/2018
Participant in East Greenbush, NY

Pages