Testimonials For Support Groups

4.00 Stars

This program helped me understand better ways of exploring my own emotions.

Support Groups
04/12/2019
Participant in Provo, Utah
5.00 Stars

I entered the program thinking that I would use the information to deal with death as my life progressed. However, I ended up focusing on a lost relationship with a friend. I struggled for nearly a year trying to let go of the pain and hurt that I experienced and that I knew I caused. After writing the completion letter I feel like I have finally moved on. Saying "goodbye" was a great thing.

Support Groups
04/12/2019
Participant in Provo, Utah
2.00 Stars
Support Groups
04/12/2019
Participant in Provo, Utah
5.00 Stars

Although I was very reluctant to go to class, I found it rewarding to push through. I found the structure useful as I worked through my strong emotions of grief and loss.

Support Groups
04/14/2019
Participant in Austin, TX
4.00 Stars

Helped me organize and express my feelings.

Support Groups
04/12/2019
Participant in Provo, UT
4.00 Stars
Support Groups
04/25/2019
Participant in Provo, Utah
3.00 Stars
Support Groups
04/12/2019
Participant in Provo, UT
2.00 Stars
Support Groups
04/12/2019
Participant in Provo, UT
5.00 Stars

I really enjoyed participating in this program because allowed me to reflect on the various experiences in my own life that have shaped me into who I am today. It was healing for me to look back on relationships and other losses and find the goodness that came from them regardless of how it may have ended.

Support Groups
04/17/2019
Participant in Provo, Utah
5.00 Stars

I am interested in becoming certified to lead this kind of recovery group in the future. There is much that I learned through the reading that helped me realize that we are all ill-adjusted to accepting grief and loss in our lives. I appreciated the knowledge the class brought me in addition to the closure I received with my losses.

Support Groups
04/15/2019
Participant in Provo, Utah
5.00 Stars

I was apprehensive when the program first began. I did not want to be digging up things that were in my past. However, as I made my Loss History Graph, I realized, I really needed to work through some of these loses in my life. I am very grateful for the organization of the program. I also enjoyed the emphasis of my responsibility--my healing was the reflection of how much effort I put into the GR program. THANK YOU. I cannot say this enough. Sharing my Completion Letter with my partner was very healing. I did not even know I needed to find/have healing through this GR program. However, I am very grateful for the opportunity to heal.

Support Groups
04/12/2019
Participant in Provo, Utah
4.00 Stars
Support Groups
04/12/2019
Participant in Provo, Utah
5.00 Stars

I learned that I can take control of unfinished communications or pain from my past to move forward with my life, and not continue with misinformation and STERBS. The process was a lot of work, but it is meaningful.

Support Groups
04/09/2019
Participant in Westerville, Ohio
3.00 Stars

The best part for me was the support from the others and knowing that I was not alone nor weird. Lisa, our facilitator helped me to be kind and good to myself.

Support Groups
03/04/2019
Participant in West Lafayette, IN
4.00 Stars
Support Groups
04/04/2019
Participant in Newark, De
4.00 Stars

It has helped me to learn how to find the missteps or disbelief in society as how you are to react to tragic events. It is OK to have sorrow and not feel guilty about it.

Support Groups
04/03/2019
Participant in Newark, DE
5.00 Stars

It set me on the right path of patience, listening.

Support Groups
03/04/2019
Participant in West Lafayette, IN
5.00 Stars

It replaced my grief with hope after the first session. Made me stronger mentally and physically. Although I still miss my husband, my days are now spent in joy at having many wonderful years together. I appreciated the hours my facilitator talked we me in session. He provided me with guidance. I am happy again. I missed enjoying my life. Thank you for this wonderful program

Support Groups
04/07/2019
Participant in Sevierville, Tennessee
5.00 Stars

Stated earlier in the survey, I felt like my voice mattered. I was able and still am able to take all what I learned and apply it to my life. Overall the program helped ease my grief.

Support Groups
04/01/2019
Participant in Candler, Ga
4.00 Stars

I know myself and realize that I probably wouldn’t have done the work without a class to provide that accountability. Had already read the book on my own. We just finished a week ago, so I think I will need more time to evaluate how the program has worked for me.

Support Groups
04/04/2019
Participant in Rocklin, ca
5.00 Stars

My youngest son, 46 yrs old, committed suicide in my home. The loss was the deepest experience of death I have ever experienced. My husband died a few years ago from cancer. Going thru the dying process with him was so different, as I was expecting his death. I was not expecting the sudden death of my son. I was lost, in deep, deep emotional pain. I was willing to go to any length to get thru the pain. I did support groups, one on one counseling, and GRM. GRM was so strong in taking me thru the steps to work thru that pain. It was the hardest thing I have ever done. I needed to face the feelings and do the (emotional) work so I could find peace in my life. Peace is what I found. I am so very, very grateful to GRM program. A few words re: our facilitator; Cindy Cook. Cindy was patient; totally supportive to each of us; if one of us had a particularly rough, painful week, Cindy was there for us. She was absolutely amazing!!!!! To get to begin to have some-type of normal life is such a gift. To get to pass on by going back to my volunteer work is a true miracle. Thank you! Thank you!! Thank you!!!

Support Groups
02/25/2019
Participant in Vancouver, Washington
5.00 Stars

I’m able to see the wonderful parts of my relationship with my mother, and while I’m still grieving losing her to dementia, when I feel sad I’m not debilitated by it.

Support Groups
03/26/2019
Participant in Honolulu, HI
4.00 Stars

I experienced a sense of release from the burden of guilt due to my not caring for my parent as well as I should have. I was able to forgive my parent for the behaviors that caused me hurt as well. I learned principles that will help me and my loved ones in our losses. I was able to open up and share things with my small group that I have only shared with my spouse before--that was therapeutic. I also learned from others in the group, as they shared their losses. As a senior citizen who is a caregiver, I consider this class as a part of my self-care.

Support Groups
03/26/2019
Participant in Honolulu, Hawaii
3.00 Stars
Support Groups
12/20/2018
Participant in Pensacola , FL

Pages