Testimonials For Support Groups

5.00 Stars
Support Groups
01/27/2020
Participant in Charleston, sc
4.00 Stars

This program has changed the way I look at grief and the grief of friends and family. Very valuable information on something that everyone will experience during life.

Support Groups
01/17/2020
Participant in Regina, Saskatchewan
5.00 Stars

This program is very different from other grief classes/support groups I have attended. I was able to look at the relationship I had with the person I am grieving in a different way and it allowed me to address apologies, forgiveness and any other unsaid things.

Support Groups
01/10/2020
Participant in Morristown, NJ
4.00 Stars

Helped me realize past coping patterns that were not working. Also helped me share and listen to others w empathy. Helped me come to a place of closure and complete the loss.

Support Groups
01/10/2020
Participant in Morristown, New Jersey
4.00 Stars
Support Groups
01/09/2020
Participant in Morristown, Nj
5.00 Stars

This program was very well-structured and helped me move purposefully through the process to a place of completion. I would have gotten stuck at a couple of points trying to work through the material on my own. It turned out to be critically important to be working with a facilitator. The process is hard work but also fruitful. I do think I'm in a different place emotionally and relationally, and I can see how the ideas will continue to benefit me and be applicable in the future.

Support Groups
01/03/2020
Participant in Fort Worth, TX
5.00 Stars

I lost both parents within 18 months of each other. The grief of relationships has me trying to figure out why and who I was without them in this earth. Thera had stated she had started her company and the Grief Recovery Method was the process. I said, why not. What I realized about my journey is I have been grieving life for a long time. The death of my parents were a small part of me coming to terms with many things of my life to bring closure. The way I feel now about relationships in my life is so unique and eye opening. I realize grief has ripple effects and they must be taken and addressed one by one. I will use this process for myself for the a very long time.

Support Groups
01/02/2020
Participant in Jacksonville , NC
5.00 Stars

This worked very well for me. It was very hard work but worth the work. I would like to continue with it in order to free up more of the confusion from the old losses in my life. I am seeing how to get more in touch with understanding my thoughts and feelings and emotions. These are good tools to make better sense of losses and fear experienced by all human beings.

Support Groups
12/30/2019
Participant in Rapid City , South Dakota
2.00 Stars

It was good to share with the group but not encouraging me to go past a lot of what I’d already done

Support Groups
12/30/2019
Participant in Chicago, Illinois
4.00 Stars
Support Groups
12/30/2019
Participant in Cathcart, On
5.00 Stars

Learned that I had much to learn to complete as far as grief in my life and have started a great journey in my recovery. Thank you Kathryn

Support Groups
12/23/2019
Participant in Burford, Ontario
4.00 Stars

Better understanding of myself

Support Groups
12/23/2019
Participant in Chillicothe , Ohio
5.00 Stars

This program served as a manifestation of a new and refreshing relationship with my dad. I have, in the last few years, lost my mother and brother - this loss was accepted as an adult. My dad's loss was as a five year old child. Our entire family was devastated, naturally so, however it must have been difficult for all of them to address the needs of a child in mourning. Thank you

Support Groups
12/21/2019
Participant in Bullhead, SD
5.00 Stars

Grief Recovery has transformed nearly all of my relationships on some varying level. It's helped me understand and identify my personal grief/losses, which I was unaware of previously, determine the root cause of my trauma/limiting beliefs/grief, and overall gain a healthy toolkit for processing emotions both in the moment and from the past. That is life-changing work. The lessons I learned and the work that I did in my Grief Recovery class with Danielle is extremely important to me and I expect the benefits of this class will only compound with every relationship that grows deeper and every year that passes. I believe time is emotion and the emotional progress that Grief Recovery helps you achieve is like the equivalent of gaining several years of extra time in this life. Outstanding program. Outstanding instructor (Danielle).

Support Groups
12/21/2019
Participant in Syracuse, NY
4.00 Stars

I believe it has helped me with my grief after all these years.

Support Groups
12/21/2019
Participant in Bullhead, SD
4.00 Stars

I learned a lot about myself and my family. It was deep hard work, but work that prepared me to grieve better in the future. I believe that this was a stepping stone to prepare me to better raise my children and lead my family.

Support Groups
12/21/2019
Participant in North Syracuse, NY
5.00 Stars

I've been doing personal work and healing on my own for the better part of two or three years on my incomplete relationship with both of my parents. This work revolved around reading and journaling about my feelings and past experiences. Slowly I was able to heal and own my feelings and emotions. I was relieved to be introduced to the GRM because I now found a structured practice in which I could do my personal work (which I learned was grieving) in. This structure/ class/ instructor was amazing and, even though the eight week class was a bit too long for me, I was able to apologize and forgive my mother for pain I've held onto for a long time. I was able to complete things that needed to be said. I burned my completion letter along with the work I've done at the end of the eight weeks. I'm not exactly sure how I was supposed to feel or how I was supposed to act. A few weeks after my mother and I had a discussion while on vacation. A lot of our unsaid feelings came up and instead of being triggered by her accusations and her pain, I was able to be a heart with ears and to offer her space to feel her emotions! I offered her space to spill everything she was bottling up. It was amazing-- like I was Neo in the Matrix. While it was painful for her we had a breakthrough conversation and the air was cleared. We are on great terms now and understand what our needs and expectations are of each other. She understands what I need from her and I understand her needs. It was amazing to experience and we have a newfound respect for each other. I'm still technically confused how finishing my completion letter and burning my work brought us to this moment (would love insight here!) but it did and I'm glad for it. Thank you Grief Recovery Institute! Thank you Danielle!

Support Groups
12/21/2019
Participant in Syracuse, New York
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
12/21/2019
Participant in Bullhead, SD
5.00 Stars

The methodology used really helped me to take affective steps forward in confronting and dealing with the grief I am experiencing from the loss of my spouse.

Support Groups
12/20/2019
Participant in Danbury, CT
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
12/19/2019
Participant in Bismarck , ND
5.00 Stars

The program allowed me to see all the grief in my life. The layers of it and the work I can to to improve the quality of my life.

Support Groups
12/19/2019
Participant in Smithtown, New York
5.00 Stars

I signed up for the class to deal with the loss of a relationship with my father. The second week into the class my mother died. I feel blessed that I was able to work on this loss with my facilitator. The death was unexpected and everyone was supportive.

Support Groups
12/19/2019
Participant in Smithtown , New York
5.00 Stars

It has helped me shift from a place of being a victim to realizing that I have been suffering from a loss of a very close relationship for many years. As a victim I felt powerless. From a place of loss, I feel I have a choice as to whether I want to continue suffering or not. Through the program I have come to realize the Sterbs I have used in the past to temporarily ease the pain are not in my best interests. I feel stronger to make better choices for myself, knowing that I am capable of being there for myself. Looking to my daughter to help me feel important is not the answer.

Support Groups
12/19/2019
Participant in Smithtown, New York
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
12/19/2019
Participant in Smithtown , NY

Pages