Testimonials For Support Groups

5.00 Stars
Support Groups
05/12/2019
Participant in Canadian , Texas
5.00 Stars

I worked through some unresolved grief with my living mother and also gained some valuable tools to help me process grief in the future.

Support Groups
05/12/2019
Participant in Canadian, Texas
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
05/12/2019
Participant in Canadian, Tx
5.00 Stars

The program helped me to work through a loss that I had not realized I had been carrying.

Support Groups
05/11/2019
Participant in Cochrane , AB
4.00 Stars

I think Anne Marie's group was an excellent step in my grieving and I would definitely recommend her and this program to others

Support Groups
05/09/2019
4.00 Stars

Na

Support Groups
05/07/2019
Participant in Duluth, MN
4.00 Stars
Support Groups
05/06/2019
Participant in Calgary, AB
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
05/06/2019
Participant in CALGARY, AB
5.00 Stars

The grief recovery program helped me face the reality of my loss, feelings that I had refused to face for years, and the chance of forgiveness where I thought there was none. It was the first time I had contemplated what life without chronic emotional pain would look like and it gave me the courage to hope for a better and more fulfilling life. The material not only helped me personally, but also helped me know how to better respond to my family, my friends, and my clients who experience life loss and transitions.

Support Groups
05/05/2019
Participant in Sedalia, MO
4.00 Stars

It did not really help me but I did witness others with positive results.

Support Groups
05/05/2019
Participant in Sedalia , MO
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
05/05/2019
Participant in Fredericton, Nb
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
05/05/2019
Participant in Sedalia, No.
5.00 Stars

This along with another program I am currently working helped me resolve some resentment. I am now able to not live as a victim of my childhood.

Support Groups
05/05/2019
Participant in Sedalia, Mo
5.00 Stars

It was so helpful to understand the myths. The weekly meetings and homework really helped me reach closure.

Support Groups
05/05/2019
Participant in Plano, Texas
5.00 Stars

The program was awesome

Support Groups
05/03/2019
4.00 Stars

It made me see things differently than I had before. It really opened my eyes. I got to work through something I didn’t even know that I needed to work through. It was a wonderful thing.

Support Groups
05/03/2019
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
05/02/2019
5.00 Stars

Thank you-- I found the program to be very helpful to me to better understand grief and how best to allow myself to move on.

Support Groups
05/02/2019
2.00 Stars

I was extremely pleased with the facilitators and how they instructed our meetings. My problem was with the actual content of the program. Although I agreed with many of the points made there were many I disagree with and feel will cause some people more harm then good. I strongly agree that Forgiveness has nothing to do with the other person and is an action, not a feeling. One of my problems is in chapter 8, first paragraph where it states, "Since we have ALL been socialized from early on to deal with sad, painful, and negative emotions INCORRECTLY,....." That is very presumptive and arrogant of the writers to think that everyone was taught wrong and that they are the only ones who know how to handle grief. It has been 25 years since my parents were murdered. I believe I made it through because of the wonderful way that I was taught and handled things the way that was needed. Also in chapter 8 it is implied that everyone is either given food or told to ignore their grief. This also is not true. I was blessed with parents that sat and talked with me when there was a problem and helped me work it out. They did not ignore it or tell me I should not be feeling that way or give me food or anything else to take me mind off it. It was dealt with. Saying that we have all been taught to bottle up our feelings is wrong. I am sure some people were taught that, but not everyone. One of my other big problems was with the relationship graph. Dredging things up from the past just so you can forgive someone or apologize for something that is long since finished is not helpful; I feel it only causes more pain. Someone like me who was taught correctly to handle things when they happened has already dealt with these things so do not need to bring them up again, that is just asking for trouble. I also disagree with you saying not to touch someone and not to respond to their statements. I am sure I am not the only one that feels that when someone reaches out and touches me when I am sharing something so important means they are actually listening and at least in a small way understanding what I am saying. Also some small words of comfort are wanted not frowned upon. I think your book is a great starting point but think it would be better if you did not just assume everyone was taught incorrectly. You made lots of good points that I have thankfully, already learned along my journey. As one of the other members of my group so wonderfully said, I joined this group to add more tools to my life. Tools to use to help myself and loved ones to get through the hard times. I am very glad I attended these meetings because I made some new friends.

Support Groups
04/30/2019
Participant in Bridgeton, NJ
5.00 Stars

By the end of the program, I felt much more at peace. I continue to read about grief (The Courage To Grieve) and found that we did everything suggested which solidifyed the program for me.. This book also mentioned so many uncharacteristic feelings I experienced, that I wasn't sure about these issues when they occurred. (ie: fear and worry, panic attacks, etc). It was helpful to learn these things are common experiences.

Support Groups
04/30/2019
Participant in Vail, CO
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
04/30/2019
Participant in Huntersville, NC
3.00 Stars

This is an effective tool to help me help others dealing with grief in the future. For myself, it helped me revisit some past memories/ relationships, and I have a tool to use for myself if necessary.

Support Groups
04/30/2019
Participant in Murray, Kentucky
5.00 Stars

This program has allowed me to accept what I cannot change, to let go of issues and continue to live life.

Support Groups
04/30/2019
Participant in Huntersville , Nc
2.00 Stars
Support Groups
04/30/2019
Participant in huntersville, north carolina

Pages