Testimonials For Support Groups

5.00 Stars

I've had several losses in my life. My first one was at the age of 29 when my first husband was killed in a car wreck leaving myself and two toddlers behind. I never dealt with that grief other than talking to anyone who would listen. Fast forward, twenty-five years later, I watched my second husband die slowly of cancer. It was a tumultuous relationship for a few of the 22 years, however, after he discovered he had stage four pancreatic cancer, it was as though we recommitted to our marriage. Love, kindness and grace and mercy became part of our ritual intentionally with the muck buried underneath of past hurts. Nevertheless, after Jeff passed away, I was directed to meet Mike Strick with Grief Recovery. In my first meeting, he listened so intently, that it was the first time someone listened to my every word for nearly two hours with no judgement about my truth. So, I signed up and committed to making the 12-week Grief Recovery journey. Along the way, unearthing every good thing about the relationship, I also realized that releasing the hurt and pain was necessary as part of my healing, and I did just that working alongside nine other strangers in town. They, too, were kind and listened intently as I purged all of the baggage and toxic waste from my system that was no longer necessary for me to hang onto since my spouse was gone physically. They did the same for their losses. Some days I did not want to write. Some days I was angry and thought I had a right to hang onto my pain. Instead, I learned to tell my story to people willing to listen, release it and let it go through apologies and forgiveness. I no longer feel as though I'm carrying the weight of the world on my shoulders. I've completed my relationship with my spouse. I miss him daily and will treasure the good times that we spent together. I was so committed to this process that I had an out patient surgical procedure on one of the class days and still made it to the session. This course was necessary. It is the beginning of my self care. Lastly, on the day of the final session, my rheumatoid specialist decreased one of my medicines due to improvement in my condition. I wonder how many of us are walking around with old stuff, baggage bottled up inside causing physically ailments because of unfinished business in relationships through divorce, death or any significant loss. I completed my relationship through this process and for that I am grateful. Many thanks to Hospice through Crossroads on so many levels.

Support Groups
08/20/2019
Participant in Cincinnati , Ohio
4.00 Stars

The biggest impact this workshop had on my life is that I learned to look at difficult things in my life from a new perspective and that people can only give (help) what they are capable of giving. Loss and grief are very difficult concepts for most folks to face and often times are not equipped to help others. I have learned to accept what others were able to give me and not judge on what they were not.

Support Groups
08/20/2019
Participant in Cincinnati, OH
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
08/20/2019
Participant in Cincinnati, Ohio
5.00 Stars

It helped me to perceive grief in a new way and find coping mechanisms along with that happiness can be found after loss.

Support Groups
08/18/2019
Participant in Alameda , CA
3.00 Stars

The program provided a unique perspective to better understand the learned behavior when dealing with grief or loss. I will use this structure to evaluate other people in my life.

Support Groups
08/18/2019
Participant in San Lorenzo, ca
5.00 Stars

This program helps me a lot to deal with the lost which in turn giving me the opportunity to move forward in my life. Thanks

Support Groups
08/18/2019
Participant in San Lorenzo, California
3.00 Stars

The facilitator was good but I'm not entirely sold on the method. It is assumed that total strangers can be a "heart with ears," but there is no reason to assume that strangers are listening sympathetically to your words, especially if you are grieving over a relationship in which you felt you fell short. I think there needs to be something that builds trust and intimacy between the participants before it makes sense to bare your most private moments and memories with them. Still, I found the exercises useful.

Support Groups
08/18/2019
Participant in Alameda, CA - California
4.00 Stars
Support Groups
08/16/2019
Participant in Екатеринбург, Свердловская обл
5.00 Stars

The combination of the "The Grief Recovery Handbook", assigned homework, and discussion with the facilitator worked very well. Much better to have the facilitator than read the book alone without any guidance.

Support Groups
08/16/2019
Participant in Loxahatchee, Florida
4.00 Stars

The program was very informative about grief and losses throughout a lifetime. The strict policy of following the program proved to be comforting even though it required me to take on faith that the outcome would be beneficial. The exercises were painful and at times I doubted and questioned the benefit of going through this structured process. The process was enlightening and I do feel a certain balance now in place of the helplessness and confusion when I started the program. The group was small which helped encourage personal truthfulness. It was helpful to emphasize and pledge confidentiality at the beginning of each session.

Support Groups
08/14/2019
Participant in West Hills, CA
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
08/14/2019
Participant in Woodland Hills, CA
4.00 Stars

First, I appreciate the newly formed perspective that I now have about grief and its value in my life. I also feel a lot less helpless or useless and unable to be of any comfort that I would hope to be to my friends when they are faced with grief and loss. I now recognize that accepting, making a safe space for and 'facilitating' grief is so much more important than attempting to 'fix it'. I now have 'tools' (other than alcohol and sleep) that can help me navigate through my own grief.

Support Groups
08/14/2019
Participant in Woodland Hills, California
5.00 Stars

This program was excellent and I would recommend everyone complete it.

Support Groups
08/13/2019
Participant in Nixa, MO
5.00 Stars

This program has taught me in my everyday life on how to deal with grief and how to help others.

Support Groups
08/12/2019
Participant in Columbus, OHIO
4.00 Stars
Support Groups
08/12/2019
Participant in Columbus, Ohio
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
08/08/2019
Participant in Kettering, OH
4.00 Stars

Realizing statements that I've made that are logical in response to others, and how ineffective that is.

Support Groups
08/08/2019
Participant in Kettering, OH
4.00 Stars

Helped me realize resentments I have carried with me for a long time.

Support Groups
08/08/2019
Participant in Kettering, OH
5.00 Stars

Everything was perfect. Kay was fantastic. Great leader of our group. Kay had a lot of compassion and was extremely kind.

Support Groups
08/08/2019
Participant in Kettering, OH
5.00 Stars

It made me realize that there were a lot of deep seated old feelings that I need to address.

Support Groups
08/06/2019
Participant in DALLAS, TX
5.00 Stars

It was a real eye opener. I learned a lot about myself and my situation. I feel free now.

Support Groups
08/06/2019
Participant in Dallas, TX
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
08/06/2019
Participant in Dallas , Texas
5.00 Stars

Very helpful. Different approach to helping with grief. Teaches tools that will apply repeatedly throughout my life.

Support Groups
08/06/2019
Participant in Dallas , TX
5.00 Stars

I learned so much about the myths of grieving and how we are "taught" to deal with loss. This program will enable me to apply these principles in many facets of my life in the future.

Support Groups
08/06/2019
Participant in Dallas, TX

Pages