Testimonials For Support Groups

4.00 Stars

I believe it has helped me with my grief after all these years.

Support Groups
12/21/2019
Participant in Bullhead, SD
4.00 Stars

I learned a lot about myself and my family. It was deep hard work, but work that prepared me to grieve better in the future. I believe that this was a stepping stone to prepare me to better raise my children and lead my family.

Support Groups
12/21/2019
Participant in North Syracuse, NY
5.00 Stars

I've been doing personal work and healing on my own for the better part of two or three years on my incomplete relationship with both of my parents. This work revolved around reading and journaling about my feelings and past experiences. Slowly I was able to heal and own my feelings and emotions. I was relieved to be introduced to the GRM because I now found a structured practice in which I could do my personal work (which I learned was grieving) in. This structure/ class/ instructor was amazing and, even though the eight week class was a bit too long for me, I was able to apologize and forgive my mother for pain I've held onto for a long time. I was able to complete things that needed to be said. I burned my completion letter along with the work I've done at the end of the eight weeks. I'm not exactly sure how I was supposed to feel or how I was supposed to act. A few weeks after my mother and I had a discussion while on vacation. A lot of our unsaid feelings came up and instead of being triggered by her accusations and her pain, I was able to be a heart with ears and to offer her space to feel her emotions! I offered her space to spill everything she was bottling up. It was amazing-- like I was Neo in the Matrix. While it was painful for her we had a breakthrough conversation and the air was cleared. We are on great terms now and understand what our needs and expectations are of each other. She understands what I need from her and I understand her needs. It was amazing to experience and we have a newfound respect for each other. I'm still technically confused how finishing my completion letter and burning my work brought us to this moment (would love insight here!) but it did and I'm glad for it. Thank you Grief Recovery Institute! Thank you Danielle!

Support Groups
12/21/2019
Participant in Syracuse, New York
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
12/21/2019
Participant in Bullhead, SD
5.00 Stars

The methodology used really helped me to take affective steps forward in confronting and dealing with the grief I am experiencing from the loss of my spouse.

Support Groups
12/20/2019
Participant in Danbury, CT
5.00 Stars

It has helped me shift from a place of being a victim to realizing that I have been suffering from a loss of a very close relationship for many years. As a victim I felt powerless. From a place of loss, I feel I have a choice as to whether I want to continue suffering or not. Through the program I have come to realize the Sterbs I have used in the past to temporarily ease the pain are not in my best interests. I feel stronger to make better choices for myself, knowing that I am capable of being there for myself. Looking to my daughter to help me feel important is not the answer.

Support Groups
12/19/2019
Participant in Smithtown, New York
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
12/19/2019
Participant in Smithtown , NY
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
12/19/2019
Participant in Boise, Idaho
5.00 Stars

I was taught things I didn't know in regards to help other grievers and to grieve myself and being OK with grieving!

Support Groups
12/19/2019
Participant in Bismarck, ND
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
12/19/2019
Participant in Bismarck , ND
5.00 Stars

The program allowed me to see all the grief in my life. The layers of it and the work I can to to improve the quality of my life.

Support Groups
12/19/2019
Participant in Smithtown, New York
5.00 Stars

I signed up for the class to deal with the loss of a relationship with my father. The second week into the class my mother died. I feel blessed that I was able to work on this loss with my facilitator. The death was unexpected and everyone was supportive.

Support Groups
12/19/2019
Participant in Smithtown , New York
4.00 Stars

It made me face up to the fact that I was stuffing my grief inside and not dealing with the pain I was feeling after the death of my spouse

Support Groups
12/18/2019
Participant in Meadow lake, Sask
5.00 Stars

I was able to work through the grief of losing my mom. I learned very important life skills helping me deal with other losses in my life. And I am better equipped to be supportive of others who are suffering loss.

Support Groups
12/18/2019
Participant in Sun City West, Arizona
5.00 Stars

The program has completely changed my life. I truly am so thankful for the tools taught to me to help me handle the grief that is in my heart. I am now able to connect better with others, I have a stronger relationship with family, and when a tragic situation occurs, I have tools to help me manage my emotions. This program is so special and I really hope more people are able to experience the tools taught through the Grief Recovery Method.

Support Groups
12/18/2019
Participant in Newhall , CA
4.00 Stars
Support Groups
12/18/2019
Participant in Peoria, AZ - Arizona
5.00 Stars

It was a profound experience to use the method to look over the span of my life and truly dissect my grief from different angles to discover origins that I was not even aware of, despite many years of therapy. With the help of my amazing facilitator Bonnie Crocker, who has an innate gift for holding space and supporting grief, I was able to look my loss in the face and process it in a safe surround. The healing I've received from my experience has allowed me to move ahead with new insight, strength and energy to create a more hopeful and joyous future.

Support Groups
12/18/2019
Participant in Venice, CA
3.00 Stars
Support Groups
12/18/2019
Participant in Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan
4.00 Stars

My two group partners were frequently unable to attend. I feel the program would have had increased long-term value if I had been able to be in a group that consistently attended.

Support Groups
12/18/2019
Participant in Meadow Lake, Saskatchewa
5.00 Stars

It has empowered me. I am able to understand myself better. Have learn that I can’t let what others do or say, to or about me define me. I will no longer give anyone the keys to steer my emotions the way they want if it is not my choice. I am a stronger person now.

Support Groups
12/17/2019
Participant in Aiken, S.C.
4.00 Stars
Support Groups
12/17/2019
Participant in Gurnee, Il
5.00 Stars

This programmed helped me to come to a place of peace during my mother's long cancer battle.

Support Groups
12/17/2019
Participant in Gurnee, IL
4.00 Stars

It has help me move on from my loss, and live in the moment.

Support Groups
12/17/2019
Participant in gurnee, Il
5.00 Stars

It's help me how to grief and say goodbye to any past hurt and how to forgive and not hold any grudges etc for any un forgiveness

Support Groups
12/17/2019
Participant in Gurnee, IL

Pages