Testimonials For Support Groups

5.00 Stars

I feel much lighter and have processed lingering issues that I've been struggling with for some time.

Support Groups
11/24/2019
Participant in Sacramento, California
5.00 Stars

1. I achieved forgiveness for a man whom I couldn't forgive. 2. I want to further apply the experience of the program in my healing of sorrow in parental relationships, in respect of people in power.

Support Groups
11/24/2019
Participant in Minsk, Belarus
5.00 Stars

Freedom is the best word that I can explain my feeling. I've got free from bad feelings from my childhood.

Support Groups
11/24/2019
Participant in Minsk, Minsk
5.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/23/2019
Participant in Minsk, Belarus
4.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/22/2019
Participant in Port Elgin, On
3.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in Simi Valley , California
4.00 Stars

I feel a sense of relief around my grandmothers death. There is a calmness feeling and a sense of peace. Although I am still processing though the emotions of doing the completion letter I feel that this is a great program and if you follow though with it works.

Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in Rapid City, SD
2.00 Stars

First, I believe it's inappropriate to offer "recovery" to grievers. Death is the profound mystery of the human experience. Loss of a spouse in particular is life altering. The kind of pain and sadness that comes with it is not all tied to "incomplete" communication with the loved one. I agree that there can be regrets, and we can become fixated on those, adding to the pain of loss. But recovery is something you do after surgery or when the antibiotic completes it's work on an infection. We all continue our day to day lives, but it's not, and can't be, the same after a loss. That sadness at the loved one's absence in this life may fade over time, but it's never going to leave, nor should it. Only in the last few pages of the main chapters do the authors say that you will still feel sad, that your life will not be the same, even after the class work is finished. I think it's self-serving to hold out the hope of recovery by using that word as the lure; who wouldn't want the pain to go away. The cathartic experience of writing and reading that goodby letter is a lesson not in recovery, but in what you can expect for the rest of your life in terms of breaking down over the loss. So I hope that people who who innocently see the phrase "Grief Recovery Method" and decide to participate believing that they can "get over" the sadness they feel aren't terribly hurt later when they out of the blue find themselves crying while preparing breakfast. If you lose your beloved well worn leather wallet, you can't have that beloved well worn wallet ever again. You can buy a new wallet and come to love it as much as the lost wallet, but you can't replace the lost beloved well worn wallet. You can't recover from the absence of that wallet in your pocket. A second concern I have over the book is the pedantic approach. Lot's of "always" and "never" in what you should or shouldn't do. All it takes to be an expert on loss is to experience it. And everyone will. The book operates on the premise that the authors somehow have the answer to loss just because they've experienced it. The authors state early on that humans are used to dealing with situations in life with reason and logic, but grief is an emotional response which requires something else. Yet the entirety of the book depends on reasoning and "logic-ing you out of what is not logical. In spite of all of these concerns that chafed at me as a participant, the value of the exercise to me didn't require the book. It consisted of having a safe place to share the most profound of human pains, with others who shared in return. And a good facilitator like the one we had can create that safe place in a support group without the "method". Some catharsis was experienced by each of us, and a deep human respect for each other developed among us. I'm not sure that the "method" was much more than a way to open the door to that kind of experience for each of us. After all, no matter what loss brought you, the one thing going in that you have in common is the pain of loss, and the hope that you're not alone. Just as the authors found ways to cope with the unfathomable, so do each of us. But while the loss does not go away, the knowledge that you are not alone, and the opportunity to express the pain to others who you know understand how that feels, is a great comfort. Finally, my spiritual beliefs, non-denominational, provide the context for my sadness at losing my wife. A couple tenets of those beliefs include accepting that we cannot understand or know everything in this life in space and time. Some things must remain mysteries while we're here. Secondly though, I believe that all will be known to us naturally once we leave this form of existence through death. Further, we knew all before we were confined within the limits of human mind and body at birth. We spend a lifetime trying like crazy to regain the soul-peace of that total connection to all that is, that we had and will have forever. In that spiritual context, I can accept that I'll be sad that someone with whom I shared the travails of this life intimately is now in a state of being in which there are no mysteries to make peace with. Her absence for the remainder of my sojourn here makes me sad while I'm still here. And that's the way it is.

Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in Haslett,, MI
2.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in Haslett, MI
4.00 Stars

The grief recovery program is very beneficial for each and every one who has experienced loss of any sort in their life. The program has helped me to see that you can better relationships with people that are still living around you. The grief recovery program has enlighten me on the behaviors of grief. Matters of the heart are not always easy to deal with or handle. But with the proper tools you're better equipped to start the process of healing. To become whole in your emotions of death let's you know you are human and dying is a part of life. The Grief Recovery specialist is the door to you opening up. One who is sensitive to all loss/grief.

Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in University Park , IL
4.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in Simi, Ca
5.00 Stars

I feel like I have the tools to identify certain triggers based on previous experiences and know where to go when another loss comes up. I fee At peace in many ways.

Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in Sandwich , MA
4.00 Stars

I really enjoyed my time in this group for it got me thinking. The life history graph was the best. It was fun and knocked me out. At first I did not feel I had any grief, but I was depressed, little things bothered me but death or a divorce did not. The book and the group helped me open my eyes and acknowledge that I do have some grief but it was not what I had expected. Thank you

Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in Rapid City, South Dakota
4.00 Stars

This program and the facilitator's compassionate style greatly helped relieve long-standing grief and improved my perspective on life.

Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in HASLETT, Michigan
5.00 Stars

Open me up to release the my anger

Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in University Park, Il
5.00 Stars

This program has changed my life. After my loss I was lost. I did not know how I would make it from moment to moment. I was sad, angry, and suicidal. This program answered a lot of the questions about grief/loss that were unanswered for me. Although I still have moments of sadness and anger, with this program I am equipped to manage my actions and thoughts in a healthy way.

Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in University Park, Illinois
5.00 Stars

Hearing other people pain. And learning that if you hear people pain it also can help heal you if you humble yourself and not think about self. And try to put yourself in those people pain it teach you that people is out here suffering like me.

Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in University park , Illinois
5.00 Stars

It was a life changing experience

Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in University Park, IL
5.00 Stars

The program helped me to bring up feelings that I carried for 62 years. I was able to release, & I.D. With the grief I had carried fo sooooooooo long. Thanks be to God for the victory.

Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in University Park, Illinois
4.00 Stars

I've learned my part of the responsibility in the relationship loss. Not just one sided grief but I had a part in it myself. I realize I focused a lot on the negative and help me remember a lot of the positive moments.

Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in Simi Valley, CA
4.00 Stars

I think it will be very helpful to me in the future.

Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in Custer, South Dakota
3.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/21/2019
Participant in Sandwich, MA
3.00 Stars
Support Groups
11/20/2019
Participant in Rapid City, South Dakota
4.00 Stars

How to properly think about loss

Support Groups
11/20/2019
Participant in West Hills, California

Pages